Tags

, , ,

Arrogance-
1. exaggerating or dispose to exaggerate ones own self worth or importance often by an overbearing manner.

2. Showing an offensive attitude of superiority.

With that defined, let’s talk about the hippocratic oath taken by doctors and nurses that is recited and sworn to as part of their graduation ceremony from medical and nursing schools.

What is happening to healthcare today?
The original Hippocratic oath has been changed in wording over the years but the fact remains, we are first and foremost, to do no harm. It doesn’t specify whether that harm is physical or emotional and thus, seems to be a broad term encompassing both.

Has anyone ever been asked to find a new doctor within thirty days because you chose not to follow a doctors advice?

I have never refused to care for a patient because they wouldn’t follow my advice. However, I do understand the frustration, first hand, of spending time researching a patients condition and teaching them tried and true ways to improve their condition only to have them refuse to do what I’ve taught them.

In my profession, I hear multiple complaints from patients about the physicians who treat them. The main one being , ” I wait so long in the office to see them then he/she spends five minutes with me and sends me on my way. He/ She doesn’t care! They got their money and just give me a bunch of prescriptions and send me on my way.”

Have we, as a profession, in our hurried and busy schedules, forgotten our oath? Do we not remember that the patient is a living, breathing human being that is coming to us for help? Do we lose sight of the fact that they are hurting, not just physically, but mentally as well? Have we failed to explore the reasons patients may be non-compliant?  Do we not see the trust they have in us? A most sacred trust…they are trusting us with their lives!

IF SO, THEN WE HAVE DONE HARM.

The second complaint is that they have been told, ” I am the doctor , you are the patient. If you don’t want to do what I tell you, find yourself another doctor.”
This, my friends, is arrogance and NOT warmth , sympathy and understanding
that is sworn to in today’s Hippocratic oath. Many patients cry and say, ” I don’t know what happened to him/ her, they used to be such a good doctor.”

If we treat patients with arrogance, lack of compassion, and cause the patient to cry because of the way we spoke to them ,

WE HAVE DONE HARM

The third complaint is , ” I don’t think he/ she knows what to do. They just keep trying different pills, and none of them work. Some make me so sick, I can’t take them.”
The medications of today, in my opinion, are not screened long enough and as a nurse I am responsible to teach side effects of medications. I ask you not only how you explain to a patient that the medicine they were recently prescribed comes with a black box warning : SUDDEN CARDIAC DEATH, but wonder how a medicine known to cause sudden cardiac death is ever approved for human consumption. And in my opinion, if we have prescribed these drugs,

WE HAVE DONE HARM

I don’t have all the answers. I don’t have many answers. But I can , in my heart of hearts, inform you as a patient and a consumer,  to research all medication and discuss these side effects with your doctor before you decide to take it. There are numerous BAD DRUG commercials and lawyers just waiting to put you on the list of a massive class action lawsuit. My advice, DON’T BE ON ONE.  Educate yourself about your medications and what you put into your body. Many drugs have interactions with grapefruit juice that makes the drug less effective.  Green tea, while seemingly healthy, will cause a person on blood thinning medicines to have very high levels of the drug. This can cause them to bleed internally or have a brain hemorrhage stroke.

This arrogance too, while not as prominent, is increasingly becoming apparent in nursing as well. Do not stand for it. You have an absolute right to be comfortable with the person providing you care. If hospitalized and there are nurses or aides who belittle you, rush you, or make you feel uncomfortable, call the hospital operator and ask to speak to the nursing supervisor. They will not be fired, but will not be able to care for you for the rest of your stay. Do not fear repercussion. That will not happen. The individual will be spoken to and hopefully, change their manner of the way they provide care. You will actually spare others who are not able to speak for themselves .

EDUCATE YOURSELF. BE AN INFORMED CONSUMER. DO NOT KEEP SEEING A DOCTOR THAT TREATS YOU WITH ARROGANCE. FIND ONE THAT HONORS THEIR OATH. God bless you all.

